You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

All smiles as Varadkar and Merkel talk Brexit on Taoiseach's first trip to Berlin

Merkel was recently elected as chancellor for the fourth time.

Updated 2 pm 

Irish PM Leo Varadkar in Berlin Today was Varadkar's first visit to Berlin as Taoiseach. DPA / PA Images DPA / PA Images / PA Images

LEO VARADKAR HAS met with German Chancellor Angela Merkel as part of his first visit to Berlin since being elected Taoiseach.

After their meeting, the pair held a joint press conference in the German capital at which the ongoing Brexit negotiations were the primary focus.

Ahead of the meeting, the Taoiseach’s department said discussions would focus on the agenda for this week’s meeting of the European Council which includes Brexit, trade and digital taxation.

Germany is Ireland’s second largest source of inward investment, third largest source of tourists, fourth largest overall trading partner, and fifth largest food export market.

Speaking ahead of his visit, Varadkar said: “I look forward to my first visit to Berlin as Taoiseach, and to congratulating the Chancellor on her re-election. We have a lot of work to do together, both bilaterally and within our shared European Union.”

The meeting also comes a day after the EU and the UK agreed that the so-called backstop for the Irish border, agreed in December, must be made legally binding.

GERMANY-IRELAND-EU-DIPLOMACY Merkel was recently elected as German Chancellor for a fourth time. Getty Images Getty Images

The backstop option would mean alignment between the north and south for customs, VAT, energy, regulations for the protection of the environment and laws governing agriculture and fisheries. Northern Ireland would also have to adhere to EU rules on State Aid and would be under the jurisdiction of the European Court of Justice in those aforementioned areas.

The backstop agreement was known as ‘Option C’ with regard to the Northern Irish border – one of three options laid out in the Joint Report agreed by the UK and the EU in December.

- With reporting by Rónán Duffy

Read: UK and EU agree on Brexit ‘backstop’ solution for the Irish border >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

120 Comments
    Mute Mumpsimus
    Favourite Mumpsimus
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:27 AM

Off to ask the masters how he should govern.

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:33 AM

@Mumpsimus: You sir will never be accused of being intellectual in your posts.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:35 AM

@Donal Hanley: hope he didn’t influence a planning permission on behalf of Angela

If he did he should keep quiet about it

See 39 more replies ▾
    Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:39 AM

@trebloc01: imagine the indignation from FG if a FF Taoiseach attempted that. There would be brown envelope accusations etc … but then again, vulture funds don’t even have to produce brown envelopes to get FG onside.

Mute Mumpsimus
    Favourite Mumpsimus
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:03 AM

@Donal Hanley: You know you are in the wrong place if you are looking for intellectuall posts in the Journal. Says more about your intelligence to fair.

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:05 AM

@Ian Kavanagh: You don’t seem to understand that what Leo did as Minister for tourism was 100% proper and indeed necessary. His mistake was the attempt at humour in DC. Normal people will understand that as is evidenced by his soaring popularity.

Mute Charles Alexander
    Favourite Charles Alexander
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:14 AM

@Donal Hanley:
    Another fawning sycophant.

Mute noBankAccBertie
    Favourite noBankAccBertie
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:24 AM

@Mumpsimus: first question do i bend over now or get a stupid gaff in first.

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:27 AM

@Charles Alexander: Did I get my analysis wrong? Pease elucidate.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:28 AM

@Charles Alexander:
    Lol. Speaking of which the Fine Goonie squad are quiet this morning. Must be an early meeting at HQ today.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:29 AM

@Donal Hanley: He lied, that is his mistake. He told the whole story around that phone call. Did he?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:29 AM

@Dave Doyle: *Never told*

Mute Charles Alexander
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:39 AM

@Donal Hanley:
    I wasn’t talking about your analysis, I’m talking about your the fawning, sycophantic manner in which you posted it.

Mute Charles Alexander
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:45 AM

@Donal Hanley:
    I was actually commenting on the fawning, sycophantic manner of your analysis not the analysis itself.

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:50 AM

@Donal Hanley: Stop will ya. It’s gut-wrenching.
    You have to find this story in a UK newspaper. Your spinsters haven’t much sway over there. Or here for that matter. Leo is Donald’s little man.

”Leo Varadkar passed a request from Donald Trump’s hotel for state assistance in meeting a €1m storm-damage bill to a fellow minister, weeks after Trump had asked him to intervene in a local planning dispute.”

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/varadkar-acted-for-trump-s-doonbeg-hotel-and-golf-resort-jd7m2ztbp

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:06 AM

@The Irish Bull: You will find in this morning’s English papers that May is under attack from her own back benches for conceding too much on Ireland and fishing. Try and keep up yo date.

Mute frank murphy
    Favourite frank murphy
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:07 AM

@Dave Doyle: Leo the legend doing us proud yet again :)

#FeelingGoodWithFineGael

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:13 AM

@Charles Alexander: Ah your in danger of repeating yourself Charlie. Maybe you think it’s worth saying twice. There’s free speech for you.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:21 AM

@Donal Hanley: You must be on his payroll.

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:25 AM

@Dave Doyle: A lapse of memory is not a lie.

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:27 AM

@Sean Conway: On his payroll at 78 years of age??

Mute Oscar Scatters
    Favourite Oscar Scatters
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:36 AM

@Donal Hanley: “A lapse of memory is not a lie.”

He made a mistake LOL :-) The default excuse for dodgy politicians and dodgrey parties in this country. You do know that was the same excuse your coalition partners FF used after screwing the country, ditto Labour.

Silly FGer’s and their silliness.

Mute Charles Alexander
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:39 AM

@Donal
    I thought it was worth posting twice.
    Did you mean ‘you’re’ as opposed to ‘your’?

Mute Johnny Bellew
    Favourite Johnny Bellew
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:43 AM

@Donal Hanley: The y is obviously too close to the t for your bludgeoning fingers.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:50 AM

@Donal Hanley: Do you not think he’s trying to control us rather than lead us?

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:51 AM

@Donal Hanley: You can call it mature recollection if you want. It’s still a lie.

Mute Ger Healy
    Favourite Ger Healy
    Mar 20th 2018, 10:07 AM

@Donal Hanley: Donal, just remove your tongue from Leo’s derriere and you’ll be grand.

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Mar 20th 2018, 10:23 AM

@Charles Alexander: Guilty like most of our people but no sycophant as there is no reward for me.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 20th 2018, 10:26 AM

@Donal Hanley: Are you sure you don’t mean ejaculate? It’s what your colleague in the fraperoom, Frank Murphy seems to be doing a lot.

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Mar 20th 2018, 10:48 AM

@frank murphy: your a hoot you should become a comedian

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Mar 20th 2018, 10:51 AM

@Dave Doyle: Ah so that’s how you think. A lot of rubbish commentators like you frequent these columns unfortunately.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 20th 2018, 12:53 PM

@Donal Hanley: Yeah i know, i’m replying to one of them.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Mar 20th 2018, 2:14 PM

@Donal Hanley: Not under attack for Ireland, but yes for fishing.

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Mar 20th 2018, 2:59 PM

@Paul Fahey: Wrong as usual

Mute Melissa O'Callaghan
    Favourite Melissa O'Callaghan
    Mar 20th 2018, 3:55 PM

@The Irish Bull: File gaff under probably best not say again and move on. No? Isn’t that what usually happens? The fact that he hadn’t a problem using a state body to intervene on his behalf probably points to a norm amongst his peers. I’m involved in stopping school playing fields being sold off to developers buddies. Most people think I’m right but it will happen anyway as its just the way thing are in Ireland. Yeah, corrupt! Time for another planning tribunal but this time where state departments are held responsible for “little favours” they make in the interest of their friends.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Mar 20th 2018, 4:17 PM

@Donal Hanley: ah poor boy, here are the front pages of the UK papers for you. It may not help your hard on for Coveney, but I am sure you can revert to the photo at your desk:

http://www.bbc.com/news/blogs/the_papers

Mute Michael Griffin
    Favourite Michael Griffin
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:25 PM

@Mumpsimus: couldnt ask a better woman…

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:11 PM

@Donal Hanley: do you even know what “commentators” do? Well it is not people who post comments on a news article. Jeez.

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:14 PM

@Mumpsimus: First thing she’ll tell him is recruit more Garda, and don’t go in to a Lidl, you’re barred.

Mar 21st 2018, 9:24 AM

@Donal Hanley: its an accurate comment though

Mar 21st 2018, 9:25 AM

@frank murphy: vomit….

Mute Niall Brew
    Favourite Niall Brew
    Mar 21st 2018, 10:36 AM

@Charles Alexander: another moaner with no solutions

Mute Aussiemandias
    Favourite Aussiemandias
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:42 AM

Leo is reported as being ‘a bit nervous as I don’t often have to talk to grown ups’. I wonder if the meeting will be behind closed doors to prevent any embarrassment for Angela being seen with him.

Mar 20th 2018, 7:52 AM

@Aussiemandias: going to see his boss in Germany, such a lightweight leader!

Mute Aussiemandias
    Favourite Aussiemandias

@Gus Sheridan: he is embarrassingly light weight, but I see the E.U more as Creche workers than bosses. As soon as they turn their back we’re running with scissors and eating the play dough

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Mar 20th 2018, 11:06 AM

@Aussiemandias: I hope he doesen’t mention the ‘war’ or try to impress her with his Ministry of Funny Walks routine….fingers crossed.

Mar 20th 2018, 7:37 AM

First trip to Germany. Well I suppose Merkel isn’t as “cool” as Macron and Trudeau and Trump even!

Mute john bennett
    Favourite john bennett
    Mar 20th 2018, 10:16 AM

@Adrian: Merkel only got elected recently , even though election was last September, maybe that’s the reason. She almost like Putin and there nearly as long especially when you remember Putin stepped aside from 2008 to 2012 whereas Merkel was in power during this time. Germany’s next leader will be the ayatollah germania.

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Mar 20th 2018, 6:50 PM

@john bennett: Merkel, like Varadkar, only has the loan of the position courtesy of a bunch of cowards.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:56 AM

Leo Varadkar’s most recent Google search, “what famous people, live in or near Berlin Germany?”

Because he has got to fill up that celebrity photo scrap book!
    :-)

Mute Change Everything
    Favourite Change Everything
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:24 AM

Wow, that corruption scandal got buried fairly fast. Guess thats what 5 million of taxpayers money gets ya.

Mute noBankAccBertie
    Favourite noBankAccBertie
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:26 AM

@Change Everything: when u have the msm in ur pocket its pretty easy to bury it.

Mute Gerard McConnell
    Favourite Gerard McConnell
    Mar 20th 2018, 5:29 PM

@Change Everything: Yes indeed and a few media stories on SF being up to no good. It never seems to fail on the journal . The FG toddlers seem to jump all over them with their faux outrage. The media in Ireland are a complete joke, bought and paid for entirely.

Mute Michael Griffin
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:31 PM

@Gerard McConnell: yeah theyre predictable alright the media…they focus on certain things without having a clear editorial path but then you wouldn’t want the indo type of journalism to rule the roost either…

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:19 AM

Any parades on in Berlin?

Mute Floyd Ofthemoon
    Favourite Floyd Ofthemoon

@Willy Malone: not since the 1940,s

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:52 AM

@Willy Malone: Will he visit the Kit Kat club.

Mute blue exile
    Favourite blue exile

Try not to stick your novelty socked foot in in again leo.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms

@blue exile: seriously, are people still going on about the sock thing?

Mute blue exile
    Favourite blue exile
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:56 AM

@Sam Harms: yes. And his embarrassing “love actually” moment in london and his windfarm gaff in washington…. showing his immaturity on the world stage a bit too often.

Mute blue exile
    Favourite blue exile
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:06 AM

@blue exile: oh .and his “pissing” comment while in the U.S. very statesmanlike.

Mute blue exile
    Favourite blue exile
    Mar 20th 2018, 2:46 PM

@Greg Cavey: thats a juicy one if true !

Mute Tony Dowling
    Favourite Tony Dowling
    Mar 20th 2018, 3:38 PM

@Sam Harms: Only embittered shinner types. Sad really.

Mute Braonain Proinseas
    Favourite Braonain Proinseas
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:22 AM

What did the world do to deserve them to two.

Mute tom McCormack
    Favourite tom McCormack
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:41 PM

@Braonain Proinseas: Leo is a more presentable leader than the guy in the Park.

Mute Niall Brew
    Favourite Niall Brew
    Mar 21st 2018, 10:37 AM

@Braonain Proinseas: so who should be the leaders of their respective countries? Go on…

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:45 AM

Hard to think you could follow up on Enda Kenny!

Mute Vigo the Carpathian
    Favourite Vigo the Carpathian
    Mar 20th 2018, 3:13 PM

@The Irish Bull: I’ll be the first to admit that Kenny gave a prettyimpressive speech on his last trip to Washington despite him never having the balls to do so at home for some reason. There was actually a flicker of leadership there for a brief second. Poor auld Leo though.. Jesus wept…It was like sending a nine year old girl to meet Harry Styles …

Mute Tom Harpur
    Favourite Tom Harpur
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:37 AM

German flag socks at the ready

Mute Vigo the Carpathian
    Favourite Vigo the Carpathian
    Mar 20th 2018, 6:26 PM

@Tom Harpur: I just hope he doesn’t decide to go retro and bring the red socks with the little black swastikas. (An Allo Allo reference)

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Mar 20th 2018, 10:16 AM

Great idea for Leo to go and meet Merkel. Germany is a major trading partner and there are more opportunities to explore with Germany. best of luck Leo & Co !

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:04 PM

@gregory: at last, a comment that isn’t snide and derisory! Meeting Merkel when Ireland needs the backing of Europe regarding the border,trade etc is a smart thing to do you pack of begrudgers. Any reason at all to spout bile. The Journal comments section has turned into little more than an online spittoon

Mute Niall Brew
    Favourite Niall Brew
    Mar 21st 2018, 10:40 AM

@Bridget O’Hanlon: it always has been. Its like a petri dish of the most extreme views, gives a good insight into what we could become. Thankfully most sane and rational folk dont have time to be commenting on here.

Mute Conor O'Sullivan
    Favourite Conor O'Sullivan
    Mar 21st 2018, 12:20 PM

@Bridget O’Hanlon: finally a decent comment. I’d almost given up…

Mute Conor O'Sullivan
    Mar 21st 2018, 12:20 PM

@gregory: finally a mature positive comment

Mute Maxwell Eddizon
    Favourite Maxwell Eddizon
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:39 AM

So many of us moan about the EU – and blame it for all our woes – yet over 83% voted to join the EEC! We were chomping at the bit to get in…

Mute Ian Kavanagh
    Favourite Ian Kavanagh
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:40 AM

@Maxwell Eddizon: only an idiot would say today’s EU resembles the original EEC.

Mute Stephen Winterson
    Favourite Stephen Winterson
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:44 AM

@Maxwell Eddizon: I voted yes because I thought they’d have to get rid of the extra tax on cars. I’m sure the country would have jumped ship in 2008, but we didn’t have the balls, we rely too much on handouts. Beggars of Europe.

Mute Maxwell Eddizon
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:46 AM

@Ian Kavanagh: And we had a direct involvement and say in all changes…

Mar 20th 2018, 7:53 AM

@Maxwell Eddizon: we noted to join the EEC…….NOT….. the Fourth Reich, the EU, big difference

Mar 20th 2018, 7:53 AM

@Gus Sheridan: voted…

Mute Maxwell Eddizon
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:54 AM

@Gus Sheridan: But we had a say in all changes! Even a veto…

Mute Floyd Ofthemoon
    Favourite Floyd Ofthemoon
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:32 AM

Its all down hill from here on

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Mar 20th 2018, 11:30 AM

@Maxwell Eddizon: We were blatantly lied to about the future implications of the Lisbon Treaty and scare mongered into voting for it the second time, especially by our own politicians who betrayed us and continue to do so in serving the EU and not the Irish people

Mute Pierre Maanen
    Favourite Pierre Maanen
    Mar 20th 2018, 5:12 PM

@Ian Kavanagh: give us back the old EEC, and start again, from the Iron Curtain to the Channel. Well that was the time, no troubles for the EEC.No border problems, still free travel in Europe, even with an EEC identity card. No 8 amendment, condoms, abortion, devorce etc. That were the good times, LSD, SEX and Rock an Roll. Lets go back

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Mar 20th 2018, 6:53 PM

@Maxwell Eddizon: ROFL

Mute Sandra Clifford
    Favourite Sandra Clifford
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:22 PM

@Maxwell Eddizon: big difference in the eec to the eu

Mar 21st 2018, 9:29 AM

@Maxwell Eddizon: we didnt sign up for the EU Reich, the EEC is what was signed for,

Mar 21st 2018, 9:30 AM

@Maxwell Eddizon: crap

Mute Dessie Deratta
    Favourite Dessie Deratta
    Mar 21st 2018, 10:46 PM

@Maxwell Eddizon: “we had a direct involvement and say in all changes”

You actually believe that?! We no more had a direct say than we had a direct say in the recent decision to join Pesco.

Our FF/FG servants of Brussels decided that without asking us. It wasn’t in any manifesto.

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Mar 20th 2018, 1:01 PM

velcome my little pixie

Mute Melissa O'Callaghan
    Favourite Melissa O'Callaghan
    Mar 20th 2018, 10:47 AM

Why did Richard Bruton waste our money on a pre paddy week tour there last week?

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Mar 20th 2018, 6:54 PM

@Melissa O’Callaghan: Big Data.

Mute Conor O'Sullivan
    Mar 21st 2018, 12:23 PM

@Melissa O’Callaghan: because it’s time to move on after Brexit and find new partners. There’s a lot of business in Germany. But maybe you don’t realise that…

Mute Conor O'Sullivan
    Mar 21st 2018, 12:25 PM

@Melissa O’Callaghan: you obviously have no clue why

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 20th 2018, 10:05 AM

Big mistake to judge the ‘backstop’ as a final solution, it is tempory until after brexit when the UK will change their minds. If Leo was really serious he would be pushing hard among his EU colleagues for a united Ireland ‘warts and all”…the only position with a lasting sustainable outcome.

Mute Dazz
    Favourite Dazz
    Mar 20th 2018, 10:57 AM

@Chris Kirk: You sure you want to use the phrase “final solution” on an article about Germany?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Mar 20th 2018, 11:15 AM

@Chris Kirk: If the UK sign the Agreement the back stop would be legally binding. They would have no choice because even the UK courts would rule against them if they renaged on the conditions. What the UK Government are hoping in some wildly optimistic way is that it won’t come to having to use it.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 20th 2018, 11:41 AM

@Dazz: Sorry boss, turned off the gas…..

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 20th 2018, 11:50 AM

@Mick Jordan: Well I think that you answered your own question, the UK government have no intention of allowing Ireland interfere with brexit, Theresa May even said it last week in parliament ‘than no British prime minister would agree to allowing a border down the Irish sea between Britain and Ireland.. So what is the answer after 2020 when brexit really doeas mean brexit. All these agreements will then become past tense and Ireland will be stuck with what they have failed to secure.
    Go for the united Ireland option before the door slams in our face, again.

Mar 21st 2018, 9:34 AM

@Chris Kirk: upUnited Ireland? You forgot to ask the people who actually live in NI, and why would they want to join a basket case of a country, corrupt, third world health service….?

Mar 20th 2018, 3:01 PM

All the photos, major photo opp there for Leo!

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Mar 20th 2018, 6:54 PM

@Adrian: Hands in normal position.

Mute IrishLiberal
    Favourite IrishLiberal
    Mar 20th 2018, 4:04 PM

Leo is playing a blinder internationally. He is the leader we need. You can see he is very well received and I trust him to get the economy growing further and getting us new business.

Mute Christopher Doyle
    Favourite Christopher Doyle
    Mar 21st 2018, 8:07 AM

@IrishLiberal: just a pity he can’t tell which tri colour is which when posting on Twitter Irish or ivory coast

Mar 21st 2018, 9:35 AM

@IrishLiberal: have you ever considered a career in the entertainment industry , you are so funny

Mute Ciaran Kehoe
    Favourite Ciaran Kehoe
    Mar 20th 2018, 5:56 PM

Leo nearly as bad, nearly I say at brown nosing as Enda the gutless

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Mar 20th 2018, 10:44 AM

Leo, needs to put a sock in it!!!!!!!!

Mute Centerro
    Favourite Centerro
    Mar 20th 2018, 8:37 AM

Check out Berghain…worth the 3 hour queue.

Mute Pat Patovic
    Favourite Pat Patovic
    Mar 20th 2018, 11:18 PM

I wonder how safe Leo feels in Germanistan.

Mute Liam Sheahan
    Favourite Liam Sheahan
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:51 PM

Holiday home in Ireland.No problem.

Mute Michael Griffin
    Mar 20th 2018, 7:35 PM

Are the comments just cymical without much depth of political thought just bashing without any attempt at growth etc…

Mute John Keogh
    Favourite John Keogh
    Mar 20th 2018, 5:57 PM

Loving the keyboard warrior comments

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Mar 20th 2018, 6:55 PM

@John Keogh: Loving the hurlers on the ditch.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Mar 20th 2018, 9:12 PM

“I am reminded of the scene from Das Boot…”